Posted by: zebbook | April 20, 2012

FROM HAWKER-BOY TO SUPERBLOGGER

From Hawker-Boy To SuperBlogger

At a few minutes past 8pm on Sunday, 15th April 2012, the much awaited announcement of the winners of the Second Edition of the rave-making literary competition #SUPERBLOGGERS was made by Japheth Omojuwa, whose brain-child the laudable scheme is. Ogunyemi Olaitan Bukola emerged the winner with his poem: Somehow; Oneday. Let’s meet him.

Ogunyemi Olaitan Bukola #SUPERBLOGGERS II

Myself: My name is Ogunyemi Olaitan Bukola, I was born in the late 1980s and I am the last born of my parents. I graduated from Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, with a degree in Biochemistry. I am an avid reader, a sports lover, a football fan and I support Manchester United FC of England. I have but two passions: teaching and writing. And of course I’m single, ladies?

#SUPERBLOGGERS: I have always craved for an avenue where I can relate, interact and share ideas with other writers, especially young Nigerian writers, so when I stumbled on #SUPERBLOGGERS on twitter I had no doubt in my mind about it being the opportunity I had waited for for so long. I see #SUPERBLOGGERS becoming a major international literary competition soon, so I am proud to be the second ever winner. I’d like to thank everyone for their efforts towards my emergence as the winner; I appreciate your support and encouragement, thanks for the love, thanks for believing in me. Special thanks goes to Japheth Omojuwa for coming up with this noble scheme.

Writing: I started writing at an early age (I know a lot of people say that as regards their talent(s)). I got exposed to books early because we had so many of them at home and I couldn’t play football with my mates because of my frail (Kanu-like) stature and bad eye-sight (myopia). So I occupied myself with books during my free time and it was only a matter of time before I started attempting to write my own. It all started with the conventional school compositions, the How-Did-You-Spend-Your-Last-Holiday types. Since I spent most of my holidays hawking for my mum (a story for another day), I had to put my imagination to good use and write about fanciful fun-filled visits to non-existent relatives in Lagos and Port-Harcourt, making my classmates go green with envy. I found this consoling and started writing more of such whimsical tales as an escape, mental, from the poverty that was forming Hulk Hogan for my family at that time.
As I approached the phallic stage of psychosexual development and became aware of the beauty of/in the opposite sex, my writing took a romantic turn. But my style and theme has matured with age; in terms of where I want to be, these are the nursery days and I’m learning everyday.

What to expect: To maximize the spotlight and publicity that comes with being a #SUPERBLOGGERS winner, I shall, over the next two weeks, blog with regularity and efficiency on my own blog http://www.zebbook.wordpress.com and here at http://omojuwa.com. Also I will guest-blog on http://payme-my2cents.blogspot.com, the blog of the Iyalode of #SUPERBLOGGERS and winner of the First Edition of the competition, Oluwapemi Elujoba. So I’ll advise you to bookmark these three blogs. Poems, articles, short-stories, playlets, interviews and many more all for free – no sign-up fee, no hidden charges!

Cash-Prize: For me it has never been about the money, and it’s same for most, if not all, of the other participants. It’s about reaching an audience with my work(s) and making my voice heard. A percentage of the cash prize will go 1Child1Book, a charity organization, founded by Tosin Jegede, which aims to put a book in the hands of every child in primary school in Nigeria, who would not normally be able to afford one, while the rest will go to some other causes. (#SUPERBLOGGERS partners with a particular charity organization for each edition of the competition and 1Child1Book are our official partner for this edition. Donations and contributions are welcome towards this commendable cause, if you’d like to make a donation please send a mail to omojuwatv@gmail.com). If I have any cash left after all these, I’ll get English textbooks for some of our First Ladies. Welcome to my world.

Responses

  1. Interesting…..


Leave a Reply

Categories

